Happy (Canadian) Thanksgiving!

Writing And Eating

It’s hard to complain about a long weekend, even if you’re not in a situation to have the big turkey experience. I’m often not – I’m working, or my friends and family are working, or I’m away, or they are. It’s too much work – at least it is for me – to cook a huge turkey dinner (although it’s one of my favorite meals) for just a couple of people, so I’ve figured out a few ways to get around it and still get a fix of turkey.

turkey-clip-art-yik6RMpiE

I occasionally buy a turkey breast and cook it – but it’s not the same. Because for me, turkey dinner is all about everything EXCEPT the turkey. I love the dressing, the mashed potatoes, the gravy, the mashed carrots and parsnips casserole, the buns and butter, the brussel sprouts. When it’s all over, I give away the leftover turkey and, begrudgingly…

View original post 237 more words

Leave a Reply

