Perfect Potato Soup

Turning Ground

Photo-Potato Soup copy

Rib stickers can come in many forms. Hearty baked beans, thick and meaty stews and creamy potato soup. When I was a little girl I thought potato soup could only taste one way. Perhaps owing to his distant British descent, Potato soup was one of my grandfather’s favourite foods. My grandmother often made it for him and never deviated from standard procedure. First she would boil those potatoes so long everyone wondered if we’d ever get to eat, then she’d mash those taters together, throw in some chopped onion and season the whole thing with salt and pepper. I think it’s fair at this point to let you know, dear reader, that my grandfather did not like change and poo pooed weird flavours. Dressing had no place on his salads and his favourite vegetable was the boiled brussle sprout.
When I grew older and ventured further from home and it’s…

View original post 303 more words

Leave a Reply

